Request Ad Space

Ash Princess by Laura Sebastian

The Book ✯✯✯✯✯

Oh boy, y'all. I closed the year out strong with such a gorgeously imagined, fully developed, incredibly immersive high fantasy. Fans of Sarah J. Maas' Throne of Glass, Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen, and Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes will find a new series to devour. While Theo is not a perfect heroine, she is perfect in her imperfections. The other characters are a bit two dimensional, but I have no doubt the next book will expand on them all.

The true strength of Ash Princess is the clever way Sebastian crafted the two warring peoples. There is plenty of gray in this dark and fallen world where her people have been conquered and then decimated. Not all of the conquering descendants are evil. Not all of the conquered descendants are good. And the question comes down to what you will fight for. In this, Theo was wise beyond her years in understanding everyone's motives around her.

There was a love triangle. And for the first time ever, I liked it. I still certainly have a ship, but for one a triangle was introduced to help highlight the fact that Theo is caught between her two worlds instead of just unnecessary drama.  

Thank you to NetGalley, Laura Sebastian, and Random House Children's for the free ARC in exchange for an honest review.


Comments

  1. This is a beautiful cover. Sounds like a good book too.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm so excited to see it's ratings doing so well, I'm at the half point. Like you, I received it on NetGalley

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wow that looks great. I am going to have to go check it out now.

    ReplyDelete
  4. That's a beautiful cover, but I'm concerned about the two-dimensionality of the protagonist. Do you think it works for her to be that 2-D, or does it weaken the story. I don't like reading a whole novel and never see the main character change. I'll approach the book with some caution now.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Theo isn't at all 2D. Only the supporting cast. Which, honestly, I think was a brilliant move. It allowed us to be fully involved with the way Theo sees the world and thus we support her best that way.

      Delete
  5. That cover is so beautiful! Gonna add this to my tbr!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love this cover and I love your review! I think I need this book in my life!

    ReplyDelete
  7. That is a beautiful cover. But I think I have seen too many similat covers these days, right? They all look so similar.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Request Ad Space

Disclaimer: Affiliate Links

Posts have affiliate links to the books reviewed or other books mentioned within reviews. You do not pay any extra for the product, but I may receive a small portion of the sale. Thank you!