The Last Girl on Earth by Alexandra Blogier

The Book ✯✯✯✯

Fans of Veronica Roth and Marie Lu, rejoice! You have a new author providing you with your next small-scope sci-fi fix. 

While short and sweet, it is certainly worth the read. Abdelorians have taken over after humans brutalized Earth nearly beyond repair. Their solution to saving the planet? Bomb all the humans. Except there are those among them that sympathized with humans, and there was one that couldn't let a little girl die. So Li's father saves her, raises her to be more than human. Through training, Li becomes just as strong and just as intelligent. But there is the Conscription and the trials that lead to placement in the Force. 

Li is a determined, but realistic teenager. Her relationship with Ryn is easy, but also insta-love. However, what teenager hasn't had at least one insta-love romance? I loved learning about the Abdelorains and about the world after we are all gone. I so wish there had been more, but by the way the novel ended, I'm positive the next book will be the one that dives into greater history and world building.

In the end, it is a young adult story built on the strength the love of family can provide you, and it is a strong debut novel.

Thank you to NetGalley, Alexandra Blogier, and Random House Children's for this free ARC in exchange for an honest review.


Comments

  1. Sounds good! Thanks for the review. I'm always looking for good, clean books. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think I fell in love everyday when I was a teen - sigh, still do with BBF ;)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm not into insta-love anymore, but I like Veronica Roth. It's been a while since I read sci-fi too. Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sooooo good! I need this one lol :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great review. I love Marie Lu books so might have to give this a read at some point.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This looks like it's a good one. I haven't read any of her book, but I am definitely down to give it a try

    ReplyDelete
  7. These end-of-the-world books are always so intriguing. Unfortunately, they encourage my tendency to stockpile things like toilet paper and Advil.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Disclaimer: Affiliate Links

Posts have affiliate links to the books reviewed or other books mentioned within reviews. You do not pay any extra for the product, but I may receive a small portion of the sale. Thank you!