The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King

The Book ✯✯✯


Fans of The Hunger Games and The Star-Touched Queen will thoroughly enjoy King's first novel in this series.

It was fast paced and gorgeously descriptive with likable characters. Unfortunately, Kalinda was one of those "I'm not at all pretty, I'm not at all powerful" young women in her inner dialogue while being shown as anything but for the whole dang thing. I hate when authors go down this trope road and it did a disservice to an otherwise likeable main character.

The world building was close to flawless, large, and detailed. We saw different parts of the country and I could vividly imagine most of the settings.

There was no insta-love (yay!) and no one else saves the queen-to-be. Anyone who loves girl power will find a home in this story. All in all, I am looking forward to the next one, The Fire Queen (The Hundredth Queen Series Book 2) that I just received as an ARC and will be reviewing soon!

Comments

  1. I also get annoyed when YA authors fall into tropey characters. However, it seems like this book is a good fantasy YA read. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I guess I should expected it from YA. It makes it relate-able for all the teen girls that can't see their own worth yet.

      Delete
  2. love your review and your colorful graphic is just lovely

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! I have an Instagram account to post for Bookstagram so I have to be pretty creative with photos over there.

      Delete
  3. This book sounds interesting, though I hate that pretty girl who calls herself plain trope as well. I loved the picture you took!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! I hate that line of writing.. just so freaking much.

      Delete
  4. I kinda like those 'I'm no one' characters that end up being insanely awesome. Sometimes it helps my 'I'm no one' feelings :) Can't wait to read your review for #2.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Going from "I'm no one" to becoming someone is FANTASTIC. This, though, is like "I'm not pretty, I'm not awesome, I'm not anything" even while she's called gorgeous, she develops powers, and becomes a dang queen. At least let it become an arch and realize your own awesomeness at some point?

      You're wonderful! I totally get needing to read about other people that think about themselves the way we sometimes do. But normally we grow past that feeling and can sometimes admit when we're doing well. :)

      Delete
  5. Your pictures are so ... wondermus. I almost forgot to read the review because I was looking at it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aww thank you! You can find me on Instagram here: https://www.instagram.com/bookinkreviews/ I post all the pictures over there, too!

      Delete
  6. I enjoy good world building in any book, but I agree with you if the main character is that way, it gets old very fast.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I really enjoyed this review and now I'm curious to read the book!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Disclaimer: Affiliate Links

Posts have affiliate links to the books reviewed or other books mentioned within reviews. You do not pay any extra for the product, but I may receive a small portion of the sale. Thank you!